Tennis Rules: You Served And Hit Your Doubles Partner Before The Bounce


OK… You served the ball and it hit your partner.

You make the call.

Is it a Fault? Let? or Point?

The ball in the air hits your partner before the bounce. In this scenario, the ball hit her partner’s racquet….I can only imagine the disputes at a USTA league match.

Correct Answer:

ITF Rule 19 States:

“If a server hits his/her own doubles partner with the serve, it’s a fault.

How many of you knew this?

This shows why it’s a good idea NOT to look back at your partner. OUCH!

Remember – you don’t have to be a pro to train like a pro!

Add Comment

Leave a Reply